Posted on

Half as Hard and Twice as Good

What a fantastic notion! My sis put this up as a post last week or the week before about Sara Groves’ song Twice as Good and I simply can NOT get it out of my head. I feel compelled to send this to every female I know. I have no idea why. Once again I see myself unable to explain what I feel, however this song has nailed it on the head. I just love the idea of things being half as hard and twice as good. I think back on some really crap times in my life and the people who have gotten me through them. How horrible it would have been to have done them alone. I also think we don’t tell each other enough how awesome a friend one is. We need to do this more often. We need to reaffirm the aged old idea of everything that is good in me, is because someone like you is in my life.

While my sis continues to say she knows little of friendship, I find this quite ironic. I can’t speak for everyone in her life, but what she knows about friendship from how she’s treated as a friend, I can guarantee that most would say the same about her and how she treats us. I think most people learn about friendship this way. Many times it works the other way around, where you have not so good friends, and thus you don’t understand friendship like others do. This song pretty much is a guide for anyone who doesn’t get it, or doesn’t know what to do. How much simpler could it be than to strive for half as hard and twice as good? No matter what that entails, that’s your pleasure as a friend. Make things half as hard and twice as good. Yeah. I likes.

The Lyrics:

When I am down and need to cry till morning,
I know just where I am going.
When I’m in need of sweet commiseration
To speak out loud.
Raise a glass to friendship
And to knowing you don’t have to go alone.
We’ll raise out hearts to share each other’s burdens
On this road.

Every burden I have carried,
Every joy–it’s understood.
Life with you is half as hard,
And twice as good.

With my good news you’re dancing on the table:
Baby’s born, to celebration.
The joy of life, oh what a sweet communion,
Shared with you.

Every burden I have carried,
Every joy–it’s understood.
Life with you is half as hard,
And twice as good.

Every burden I have carried,
Every joy–it’s understood.
Life with you is half as hard,
And twice as good.

I know we’re growing older,
Can you imagine what that will bring?
It’s all a mystery to me now,
Except this one thing:
It’ll be half as hard, and twice as good.

About colfaxave

Alex, VA

2 responses to “Half as Hard and Twice as Good

  1. Love, love, love… you sweet friend! It’s true, you make my life half as hard and twice as good. I’m so glad you dig the music. :)

Leave a Reply

